Daily Archives: March 8, 2009

Spring break fun with friends

It was a somehwat boring day doing experiments in lab, and I haven’t analyzed the results yet, so I don’t even know if they’re good. Keep your fingers crossed!

If anybody ever wondered what young wannabe scientists do, it’s a rollercoaster of a job. There’s days like today when all you do is make up solutions, put them in many test tubes, stick the test tube in the machine, make a measurement, take it out, stick the next test tube in the machine, make a measurement, take it out, stick the next test tube in the machine…And there are the days when you analyze data, find out something and get really excited, because you’re the first one to know this, a shiny new piece of nature’s puzzle. Then you realize the answer raises a 100 more questions and get really excited planning the next set of experiments. Then there are the days when you go to conferences, present and for several minutes feel like a rockstar when everybody asks questions about your work. What you’ll do next and where it will take you can be totally unpredictable and I love it!

After lab work was done, I went for a walk to the grocery shop with my friend. It’s a 20-minute walk through a grove in a very warm evening with bright moonlight and a fresh breeze. We were all excited for spring break, my friends a little more excited than me, because they’re leaving for Niagara falls this morning. Yet, I was happy to finally relax, crack jokes and laugh out loud. I had a blast and now I’m just having some do-nothin’-much time and planning out the next day, so that I manage to go to the gym tomorrow.

Off to bed now anticipating another carefree spring break day.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized